Schedule For Lok Sabha Polls Announced

The Election Commission of India has ended all speculations on 15th Lok Sabha election dates by announcing that five-phase election will kick start on April 16 and continue till May 13. The counting of votes will be done on May 16. The elections will be held in 5 phases in J&K and Uttar Pradesh, Bihar will have four-phase elections while Maharashtra and West Bengal will have polls in three phases.Two-phase elections will be held in states like Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa and Punjab. The remaining fifteen states and seven Union Territories will vote in one-phase elections. According to Chief Election Commissioner N Gopalaswami, elections in 124 constituencies will take place on April 16, in 141 constituencies on April 23, in 107 on April 30, in 85 on May 7 and 86 on May 13.
The term of the 14th Lok Sabha ends on June 1, 2009, therefore the new Lok Sabha will have to be constituted by then.

0 Response to "Schedule For Lok Sabha Polls Announced"

Powered by Blogger